mustafashehzad

Throughout my time at college in the US, I thought I was taking the high road by believing people are generally well intentioned, and it would be morally inconsistent to paint the greater American canvas with the brush of a few vitriolic white people. Among my close friends, it’s no secret that I was part of the small subset of Muslims that actually pushed against the Islamophobia narrative. I actually believed Muslims peddled a victimized storyline that aimed to pin away blame from ourselves, and that Islamophobia was a just another hype narrative that made us look weaker than we actually were – divisive and detracted from genuine struggles – giving us an easy way to earn sympathy on social media.

But after seeing what’s unfolded after the last two GOP debates, and reading Vox’s recent take on Trump and Rubio, I’m starting to understand otherwise. I’m starting to understand…

View original post 451 more words

Leave a Reply

