The Middle of a War

 

Oh my god

We’ve landed right smack

in the middle of a war

Born into it, blood and body intact

Our souls sold to its tragedy

Heavens above

Our nations have traded into this

Into this massacre of sorts

My Gracious Lord

What did we do

To be born in soil

Soiled from the blood of those coming

And those who left

Oh my God

Look what we’ve done

Chosen our paths

Picked up our weapons

There’s no running

Because

Oh my God

We’ve landed right smack

In the middle of this war

My lord

We cannot build our homes

Not without these charred bones

The trees will not grow

In dead tainted sands

Strewn right and left

With the Bodies of the unknown

My God

When we pray

Our tears will run red

And our hands will shake

Because our salvation is dead itself

Our hearts betrayed.

Leave a comment